Pressure Points


Fallibility
March 10, 2008, 3:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Fallible (adj.)

  1. Capable of making an error.
  2. Tending or likely to be erroneous.

In light of my recent disaster, I have thought much about it means to make mistakes. We are all inherently fallible and so must mess up at some point in time (hey, it keeps life interesting…right?) It’s something we all understandably try to avoid, but to what extent? What do you do when you do mess up?

In the perspective of life and reality, missing my recitation really isn’t that big of deal. Yet,  even though I owned up to it and patched up the mess, I still find myself trying to justify how I could have missed it. It’s been a wake-up call to the result of copious amounts of stress, lack of sleep, and unreachable expectations that have been driving my life.

I want to do well, but I can’t do everything, which brings up the role of focus in life. Right now, my focus is like a pendulum, swinging back and forth, as fickle as any Kansas wind. As a result, it has under-cut my efforts to excel at what I do, driving that oh-so-important “me time” to the back seat. I can only marvel at other people who manage to be both the slave and slave driver in their own lives.

The truth is, that though it sucks, I’m glad my fallibility has caught up with me and dealt me a hard lesson. A very hard lesson, in which I hope to move from the classroom and into real life.